Jesus is God

This weeks bible study we are going to go through passages that speak to how Jesus is God.  Last week we learned that there is One God.  These two bible studies will link together how Jesus and God are One.

Isaiah 7:14

14 Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.

  • This speaks of the Virgin Mary giving birth to a son and he shall be called Immanuel. According to the Gospel of Matthew Immanuel refers to Jesus Christ. Immanuel(Hebrew עִמָּנוּאֵל meaning, “God with us“; also Romanized Emmanuel, Imanu’el) is a Hebrew name which appears in chapters 7 and 8 of the Book of Isaiah as part of a prophecy of God’s protection from rival kings during the life of Jeshurun.

Isaiah 9:6

6 For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

  • Again this passage speaks of Immanuel “Jesus” as the all being.  It speaks of how he is The mighty God,  the everlasting Father.  Just like you the reader may have many titles you are a mother, a father, a brother, a sister, a husband, a wife.  Just like you the reader, you also have a name.  Jesus has many names, but remember Jesus and the Father are One.

Micah 5:2

2 But thou, Bethlehem Ephratah, though thou be little among the thousands of Judah, yet out of thee shall he come forth unto me that is to be ruler in Israel; whose goings forth have been from of old, from everlasting.

John 1:1,14

1In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

14And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

John 1:10

10He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not.

John 8:24,58-59

24I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.

58Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.  59Then took they up stones to cast at him: but Jesus hid himself, and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by.

John 14:6-11

6Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me7If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him.  8Philip saith unto him, Lord, shew us the Father, and it sufficeth us.  9Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Shew us the Father?  10Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works.  11Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake.

II Corinthians 5:19

18And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation;

I Timothy 3:16

16And without controversy great is the mystery of godliness: God was manifest in the flesh, justified in the Spirit, seen of angels, preached unto the Gentiles, believed on in the world, received up into glory.

Throughout the bible Jesus tells many men and profits that He and the Father are one.  How often do children not listen to their parents.  How many times do you have to tell someone to do something or explain a co-worker how to do a project till they get it.  Jesus had to many time explain whom he was.  Jesus’s time was short on this earth and this shows great grace and patents from a loving Father, a loving parent to time in time again try their hardest to explain something so that the ones they love would get it.

 

This entry was posted in Bible Studies, Wheel of Prophecy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.